Specsavers Crime Thriller Awards 2013 Shortlist Announced

Article published on August 29, 2013.

The motives are numerous, the list of suspects lengthy, and the body count sky high…the shortlists for this year’s Specsavers Crime Thriller Awards in association with the Crime Writers’ Association are announced today. In addition to the ceremony itself ITV 3 will show a six-part prime time series, The Crime Thriller Club which includes a crime thriller version of the successful TV Book Club, starting on 16th September.

The winners of 11 Awards honouring TV, Books and Film will be announced at The Specsavers Crime Thriller Awards on Thursday 24th October at the Grosvenor House Hotel. The stars of all three genres are guaranteed to turn out in force. The awards for books include the CWA Goldsboro Gold Dagger for the Best Crime Novel of the Year, the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger for the Best Thriller of the Year, and the CWA John Creasey New Blood Dagger for the Best New Crime Writer of the Year, alongside Film and TV-based Daggers.

At the heart of the Crime Thriller Club series isThe Crime Thriller Book Club, with six specially selected titles guaranteed to grip readers who can join the discussion online. The 6 books were selected by Amanda Ross of Cactus TV and her team, whose selections for the TV Book Club created many No 1 Best Selling Authors.  The featured titles are:

  • Trust Your Eyes by Linwood Barclay (Orion)
  • Dare Me by Megan Abbott (Picador)
  • Bryant and May and the Invisible Code by Christopher Fowler (Transworld)
  • The Necessary Death of Lewis Winter by Malcolm Mackay (Pan Books)
  • City of Devils by Diana Bretherick (Orion)
  • The Scent of Death by  Andrew Taylor (Harper Collins)

The Complete Shortlists for Specsavers Crime Thriller Awards are as follows:

 The CWA Goldsboro Gold Dagger for Best Crime Novel of the Year

  • Rubbernecker by Belinda Bauer (Bantam/Transworld)
  • The Shining Girlsby Lauren Beukes (HarperCollins)
  • Rage Against the Dying by Becky Masterman (Orion)
  • Dead Lionsby Mick Herron (Soho Crime)

 The CWA John Creasey New Blood Dagger for Best New Crime Write of the Year

  • Norwegian by Nightby Derek B. Miller (Faber and Faber)
  • Something You Areby Hanna Jameson (Head of Zeus)
  • The Necessary Death of Lewis Winterby Malcolm Mackay (Mantle)
  • Shadow of the Rock by Thomas Mogford (Bloomsbury)

 The CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger for Best Thriller of the Year

  • Ghostman by Roger Hobbs (Transworld)
  • Ratlines by Stuart Neville (Random House)
  • The Sentinel by Mark Oldfield (Head of Zeus)
  • Capital Punishment by Robert Wilson (Orion)

 The Film Dagger

  • Sky Fall
  • Jack Reacher
  • Killing Them Softly
  • Looper
  • Seven Psychopaths

The TV Dagger

  • Luther
  • Top of the Lake
  • Broadchurch
  • The Fall
  • Bletchley Circle

The International TV Dagger

  • Homeland
  • Boardwalk Empire
  • The Killing 3
  • Arne Dahl

 The Best Supporting Actor Dagger

  • Paul McGann for A Mother’s Son
  • Mandy Patinkin for Homeland
  • Andrew Buchan for Broadchurch
  • Warren Brown for Luther
  • Roger Allam for Endeavour

The Best Supporting Actress Dagger

  • Pauline Quirke for Broadchurch
  • Amelia Bullmore for Scott & Bailey
  • Holly Hunter for Top of the Lake
  • Jodie Whittaker for Broadchurch
  • Ruth Wilson for Luther

The Best Actor Dagger

  • Damien Lewis for Homeland
  • David Tennant for Broadchurch
  • Idris Elba for Luther
  • Jason Isaacs for Case Histories
  • Paddy Considine for The Suspicions of Mr Whicher: The Murder in Angel Lane

The Best Actress Dagger

  • Sofie Grabol for The Killing 3
  • Olivia Colman for Broadchurch
  • Claire Danes for Homeland
  • Gillian Anderson for The Fall
  • Lesley Sharp for Scott & Bailey


The Highway, by CJ Box


Creating David Raker

You may also like