Arthur C. Clarke Award 2016: Europe At Midnight by Dave Hutchinson

Competition published on July 6, 2016.

ACC Stickers 2015 AW stg 1dbThe Arthur C. Clarke Award is the most prestigious award for science fiction in Britain.

The annual award is given for the best science fiction novel first published in the United Kingdom during the previous year. The award was established with a generous grant given by Sir Arthur C. Clarke and the first prize was awarded in 1987 to Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale.

The winner is judged by a jury panel and selected from an initial shortlist of six eligible novels. The panel of judges is made up of a voluntary body of distinguished writers, critics and fans with the panel line-up changing every year. The juries are drawn from such organisations as the British Science Fiction Association, the Science Fiction Foundation and the SCI-FI-LONDON film festival.

The winner will be announced on Wednesday 24th August at a celebratory award ceremony held in partnership with Foyles, Charing Cross Road.

The winner will be presented with a cheque for £2016.00 and the award itself, a commemorative engraved bookend.


ACC Stickers 2015 AW stg 1dbEurope at Midnight by Dave Hutchinson


In a fractured Europe new nations are springing up everywhere, some literally overnight.

For an intelligence officer like Jim, it’s a nightmare. Every week or so a friendly power spawns a new and unknown national entity, which may or may not be friendly to England’s interests. It’s hard to keep on top of it all. But things are about to get worse for Jim.

A stabbing on a London bus pitches him into a world where his intelligence service is preparing for war with another universe, and a man has come who may hold the key to unlocking Europe’s most jealously-guarded secret…

Europe at Midnight is the latest standalone title in the Fractured Europe Sequence from Dave Hutchinson, following quickly behind 2014’s break-out debut Europe in Autumn. Featuring Hutchinson’s trademark style of Kafka meets le Carré, Europe at Midnight is a dazzling SF thriller that explores a near-future Europe that’s possibly closer than we would like to think…

Europe at Midnight is a compulsive and compelling read, set in a highly original setting that will delight thriller fans looking for something a little bit different. Europe at Autumn published last year to great critical acclaim and has been gathering pace throughout the year, featuring across the board in the annual best-of-the-year round-ups, including The Guardian, Huffington Post and Locus Magazine, and receiving multiple nominations for prestigious “best novel” awards, including The Arthur C Clarke Award. BSFA Best Novel and The John W. Campbell Award. Hutchinson’s creation is brilliant, inventive and ominous; if you haven’t discovered his works yet, now is the perfect time to get on board.

Dave HutchinsonDave Hutchinson was born in Sheffield in 1960 and read American Studies at the University of Nottingham, before going on to become a journalist. He’s the author of six collections of short stories and the editor of three more. His novella ‘The Push’ was shortlisted for the BSFA Award in 2010, and his novel Europe In Autumn was shortlisted for both the BSFA Award and the Arthur C Clarke Award in 2015. He is also the author of the novel The Villages. A follow-up to Europe In Autumn, Europe At Midnight, will be published by Solaris in November.

He lives in London with his wife and a number of cats.

© Cecilia Weightman

Europe at Midnight by Dave Hutchinson is published by Solaris Books as a £7.99 pbk.

Read an extract from Europe at Midnight

We have copies of the book to give away!

For your chance to win, simply fill in the form below:

The Competition is closed.

Competition Terms & Conditions

Please read these competition rules carefully. By entering a Nudge competition you are confirming that you have read these rules and that you agree to them.

  1. To enter a competition you must be: (a) resident in the UK or the Republic or Ireland; and (b) 18 years old or over at the time of entry.
  2. Competitions are not open to employees (or members of their immediate families) of AMS Digital Publishing Limited.
  3. No purchase necessary.
  4. Only one entry per person.
  5. If you want to enter a competition you must enter via the website on the applicable competition page.
  6. The winner will be the entrant who answers the most questions correctly and whose tie-break answer is selected to be the best of the entries by the judges.
  7. The closing date for this competition is August 24, 2016, and Nudge reserves the right to amend the competition end date at any time.
  8. If you win a competition, we will notify you by e-mail. The judges’ decision will be final, and no correspondence will be entered into.
  9. You can find out who has won a particular competition by sending a stamped addressed envelope, marked with the name of the competition to AMS Digital Publishing, Studio 20, Glove Factory Studios, Brook Lane, Holt, Wilts, BA14 6RL, UK after the closing date.
  10. By entering the competition the winner agrees to participate in such promotional activity and material as Nudge may require.
  11. The panel of judges for each competition (if applicable) will be comprised of members of the Nudge editorial team.
  12. The prize will not be transferable to another person.
  13. No part of a prize is exchangeable for cash or any other prize.
  14. If an advertised prize is not available, we reserve the right to offer an alternative prize of equal or greater value.
  15. Incorrectly completed entries will be disqualified.
  16. This competition is being run by AMS Digital Publishing Limited, whose registered office address is Studio 20, Glove Factory Studios, Brook Lane, Holt, Wilts, BA14 6RL, UK.
  17. Please read our Privacy Policy which tells you how we use any personal information we may collect about you by entering a competition.
  18. Nudge reserves the right to amend these rules at any time.
  19. Nudge will endeavour to send prizes within a month of the competition end date but cannot guarantee this delivery time.


Arthur C. Clarke Award 2016: The Book of Phoenix by Nnedi Okorafor


Smoke by Dan Vyleta

You may also like