The Edward Stanford Travel Writing Awards 2016

Article published on January 11, 2017.

Launched in 2015, the Edward Stanford Travel Writing Awards seek to celebrate the best travel writing, and travel writers, in the world.

The Edward Stanford Travel Writing Awards 2016 consist of:

Stanford Dolman Travel Book of the Year Award
The award, which is open to authors from all across the world, celebrates excellence in literary travel writing for books first published 1st Jan 2015 – 1st Nov 2016.
The winner will be presented with a cheque for £5,000.
Run in association with The Authors’ Club, the Stanford Dolman Travel Book of the Year is the centrepiece of the Edward Stanford Travel Writing Awards.

Edward Stanford Award for Outstanding Contribution to Travel Writing
Recognising the contribution of one individual author to the travel-writing genre over time. This individual should still be current and relevant today.

Bradt Travel Guides New Travel Writer of the Year
This award is administered by Bradt Travel Guides.

Lonely Planet Pathfinders Travel Blog of the Year
This award will be administered by Lonely Planet.


National Book Tokens Children’s Travel Book of the Year

Fiction or non-fiction title for pre-teens which inspires a love of travel, exploration and adventure.

Atlas of Animal Adventures by Lucy Letherland, Rachel Williams & Emily Hawkins

Destinations Show Illustrated Travel Book of The Year

A book of photography, illustrations, maps or infographics relating to travel, adventure or world cultures aimed at the adult market and with their focus on either one place or the entire world, with limited accompanying text.

An Atlas of Countries That Don’t Exist by Nick Middleton

Food and Travel Magazine Food & Travel Book of the Year

Cookbook or non-fiction food writing focussed on a particular national cuisine or telling of food related exploration/travel. Must capture a sense of the place’s identity and culture.

Eivissa: The Ibiza Cookbook by Anne Sijmonsbergen

Specsavers Fiction (with a Sense of Place)

A novel or novella with a highly developed and integral sense of place.

Do Not Say We Have Nothing by Madeleine Thien

London Book Fair Innovation in Travel Publishing

An individual title or series which brings something new to the table. This might be an illustrated title, fiction or non-fiction, but must be original and unique from the outside in – clearly attempting to engage readers with travel and the world.

Atlas Obscura by Joshua Foer, Dylan Thuras & Ella Morton

Wanderlust Adventure Travel Book of the Year

Presented to the author of a book of accessible non-fiction telling of either an individual’s personal adventure or recounting an historical life or expedition. Open to memoir, autobiography, biography and history titles relating to travel and exploration.

Africa Solo by Mark Beaumont


Vote for the book you would like to win from each of the six category shortlists above.
The public vote will be combined with the judging panel votes.
All voters will be entered into a prize draw to win £100 of National Book Tokens.

Voting closes midday 25th January 2017.

Click here to vote and for terms & conditions.

17th January 2017 – Shortlist celebration party and reveal of the Stanford Dolman Travel Book of the Year shortlist

2nd Feb 2017 – Winners announced alongside Stanfords Travel Writers Festival


nb91 – New Issue Out Now


17 for 17: 12

You may also like