Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction 2017: The Longlist

Article published on March 9, 2017.

On 8 March 2017, International Women’s Day, the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction revealed the sixteen books which make up this year’s longlist, chosen by a judging panel consisting of Tessa Ross (Chair), Aminatta Forna, Katie Derham, Sam Baker and Sara Pascoe.

“The judges had an unusually large number of books of extraordinary quality to choose from this year, and so I can’t say that it was an easy process to come up with a list as short as sixteen,” commented Tessa Ross, Chair of Judges. “However, we’re all thrilled by where we’ve ended up and truly excited by the quality and range of talent on this year’s longlist. It’s a great showcase for the very best contemporary women’s fiction – we hope that it will inspire readers everywhere.”

This year’s judges now have the unenviable task of whittling these sixteen titles down to just six shortlisted titles before finally choosing the winner which will be revealed at an awards ceremony hosted in the Clore Ballroom at the Royal Festival Hall on 7 June 2017.
The longlisted books are as follows:

Stay With Me, Ayobami Adebayo
The Power, Naomi Alderman
Hag-Seed, Margaret Atwood
Little Deaths, Emma Flint
The Mare, Mary Gaitskill
The Dark Circle, Linda Grant
The Lesser Bohemians, Eimear McBride
Midwinter, Fiona Melrose
The Sport of Kings, C.E. Morgan
The Woman Next Door, Yewande Omotoso
The Lonely Hearts Hotel, Heather O’Neill
The Essex Serpent, Sarah Perry
Barkskins, Annie Proulx
First Love, Gwendoline Riley
Do Not Say We Have Nothing, Madeleine Thien
The Gustav Sonata, Rose Tremain

Follow the links for reviews on nudge.


Find out more at and by following @BaileysPrize on Twitter or using the hashtag #BaileysPrize


American Housewife by Helen Ellis


Birdcage Walk by Helen Dunmore

You may also like