Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction 2018 longlist announced!

Article published on March 1, 2018.

“Honouring the achievements of the founding father of the historical novel, the Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction is one of the most prestigious literary prizes in the world.  With a total value of over £30,000, it is unique for rewarding writing of exceptional quality which is set in the past.”

The longlist for the Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction 2018 was announced today. The Prize celebrates quality and innovation of writing in the English language. It is open to books published during the previous year in the UK, Ireland or the Commonwealth and, in keeping with the subtitle of Waverley (“Sixty Years Since”), Scott’s most famous work, the majority of the storyline must take place at least sixty years ago.

The thirteen books on the 2018 longlist are:

  • The Clocks In This House All Tell Different Times by Xan Brooks (Salt)
  • Birdcage Walk by Helen Dunmore (Hutchinson)
  • Manhattan Beach by Jennifer Egan (Corsair)
  • The Last Man In Europe by Dennis Glover (Black Inc Books)
  • Sugar Money by Jane Harris (Faber)
  • Prussian Blue by Philip Kerr (Quercus)
  • The Draughtsman by Robert Lautner (Borough Press)
  • Grace by Paul Lynch (Oneworld)
  • The Wardrobe Mistress by Patrick McGrath (Hutchinson)
  • Miss Boston and Miss Hargreaves by Rachel Malik (Fig Tree)
  • The Gallows Pole by Benjamin Myers (Bluemoose Books)
  • The Horseman by Tim Pears (Bloomsbury)
  • The Bedlam Stacks by Natasha Pulley (Bloomsbury)


The shortlist for the Prize will be announced in April 2018.

You can find out more about the Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction here.


Only Child by Rhiannon Navin


Oliver Loving by Stefan Merrill Block

You may also like